• 03 9386 4301

The Victorian Curriculum F-10 is the new curriculum for Victorian schools that will be implemented in schools from the start of 2017.. It incorporates the Australian Curriculum and reflects Victorian standards and priorities.

The AusVELS curriculum was the initial incorporation of the Australian Curriculum areas of English, Mathematics, History and Science into the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS). The AusVELS curriculum will continue to be available until December 2016.

Learning areas include:

  • The Arts – Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts, Visual Communication Design
  • Health and Physical Education
  • The Humanities – Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography, History, Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technologies – Design and Technologies, Digital Technologies

Capabilities – Critical and Creative Thinking, Ethical, Intercultural, Personal and Social


While much of the explicit teaching of literacy occurs in the English learning area, it is strengthened, made specific and extended in other learning areas as students engage in a range of learning activities with significant literacy demands.


In the Victorian Curriculum F–10, the knowledge and skills that underpin numeracy are explicitly taught in the Mathematics strands Number and Algebra, Measurement and Geometry and Statistics and Probability and reinforced and further exemplified in and across other curriculum areas. Through this process, students recognise that mathematics is widely used both in and outside school and learn to apply mathematical knowledge and skills in a wide range of familiar and unfamiliar situations.

Information and Communications Technologies

In the Victorian Curriculum F–10, the ICT general capability skills are either specifically embedded in the content descriptions of Mathematics, Media Arts, Geography, English and Digital Technologies or schools have the flexibility to determine how these skills will be used in their teaching and learning programs for other curriculum areas.

The Literacy, Numeracy and ICT general capabilities from the Australian Curriculum F–10 are represented in the Victorian Curriculum F–10 as embedded in each curriculum area and are not discrete areas against which teachers should report student progress.

Further information  is available from: